A ceiling Fan’s Tale

Short Stories

There I was sitting with my entire limbs dissembled in a box when I heard a man’s voice – “Quick Quick I don’t have time. I need a high quality FAN which would provide the sweetest and coolest breeze and the color preferably in Pink”. My owner was running around to satisfy the queries of that –gentleman. “Oh Pink color”…yes yes we do have only one product in that color but it’s a bit pricey was my owner’s reply. The gentleman replied –“I don’t care just show me once and better be fast my wife is getting discharged from the hospital tomorrow early morning and by today night I have to complete the decoration of her room. Actually she delivered a beautiful baby girl 5 days back and we had decorated our room to welcome the bundle of joy, but just last night our old fan gave away so here I am to purchase a new fan for my daughter”.

Then first time after they had packed me I saw light and my new Guardian. He seemed to be in his late twenties but I should say he was handsome…The very moment he saw me I was finalized. I heard my owner calling him Mr. Ghosh. Within next few hours I was hanging in a beautifully decorated room with my four hands stretched. The room had a color combination of pink and lilac with a little pink cradle and a big bed. Full of soft toys, rattles, wind chimes. As they switched on the power I got energized and went on round and round..Oh how happy I felt..The wind chimes started singing with me, the floral curtains were dancing to our tune and Mr. Ghosh just uttered “PERFECT”.

Today is 1st August and Mr. Ghosh woke up very early in the morning and made sure everything was just in place and finally after giving few more instruction to our two helpers he left home. Within 11:30am we heard the car honking. In the meantime I had befriended my room-mates, the lights, curtains, furniture’s and those little Bunnies…and I came to know that Mr. Ghosh has gone to the hospital to get his wife and new born daughter home for the 1st time. There Mrs. Ghosh entered the room with a cute little baby wrapped in a pink towel. She looked tired….she is a new mom, delivery and sleepless nights was clearly visible in the eyes but she managed a smile. Oh..There!!! so this is our new fan…it’s so pretty I love the color…My My ..I started blushing and I could see my naughty friends smiling back at me…Oh my God what happened..the baby started crying…”baby don’t cry..pls pls” I nobody heard me…Mrs. Ghosh just called for one of her helpers and asked her to switch on the fan….and there she had a smile….God bless the little Angel..She is so cute…and then the routine started…Everybody was really busy with the new responsibility. ..oh yes forgot to mention, our little angel was called Ryka-one who is born out of a hymn or prayer.

Days passed and Ryka was growing…there was no night or day for the Ghosh family. Their sole attention was on Ryka..She loved staring at me..talking to me..If somebody switched me off she would start crying but the moment I start rotating there would be that million dollar smile on her face…I am simply loving me life. Once in a while they would clean me and I would be beautiful again..Just like Mrs Ghosh. She also looked beautiful after she got cleaned – I mean her regular parlor sessions. Time simply flew by and the little angel has grown up to be naughty girl. Running from this end to that end of the house. Throwing things…Breaking toys…Sometimes hurting herself…Her laughter was like music to ears and her cries broke my heart. Whenever she cried I just felt to hug her…Caress her but my feet were tied. I stay there just as a spectator.

Life was smooth when all of sudden few men came down and was drilling something in the wall…it was a new connection to put up an AC in the room. As the temperature was rising Mr. and Mrs. Ghosh thought the they need a AC in Ryka room so that she can study better and is not affected by the heat. I felt like a Failure. I wasn’t able to give her comfort from the rising temperature.

Now I am just like a show piece in the room that has no use. They had covered me so that I don’t get dirty but that restricted my vision. I can’t see Ryka and nobody saw my tears. Her lovely voice was enough for me to survive. God listened to me. One day we had huge storm and the window was open. The wind was so fierce that my cover tore in two pieces…my happiness new no bounds. I was laughing in joy and just then somebody entered the room. A beautiful young girl..Ahhh!!..God !!! She is Ryka..She looks so beautiful….22 years have passed and she looks like a beautiful damsel…but Mr. and Mrs. Ghosh look old…just heard them talking that Mr. Ghosh has high cholesterol and doctors have advised him a strict no fat diet..And Mrs. Ghosh is always complaining about her knee pain but that doesn’t keep her from missing her Parlor appointments. I felt like I got my life back…All my friends cheered however maximum of my old friends were replaced for new.

I could hear certain discussions going on…Ryka is in LOVE and Mr. Ghosh is against her choice. Mrs Ghosh tied between daughter and husband. After lot of discussions finally Mr. Ghosh had to agree.

Today is Ryka’s marriage. They booked a Posh hall for the so couldn’t  see her prince …. I pray that she should get the best man in her life. The 1st day of Bengali marriage ceremony was over and tomorrow is her “Bidai”. There she stood in a beautiful red benarsi saree loaded with jewelry…and her Prince…A handsome young man just of the same age as Mr. Ghosh was when he bought me home. I hope he will love and always take care of our little princess. She came inside the room as if to recollect her childhood memories. This is the room where she has spent her life till now. She called her husband and pointed out to me..That fan is my best friend…I used to talk to him when I was alone in the room..I grew up with it…then somebody called for her and they left the room…she stopped by the door and turned back at me…I could see tears in her eyes…I couldn’t control myself….I missed her presence in the room…her voice…It was very hard for her parents even but this is life and life has to go on…everyday Mrs. Ghosh used to come and spent time just watching her things and talking to her…

What happened today again I see lot of hustle bustle going on….Mr. and Mrs. Ghosh running around..Each one of use were getting cleaned…I thought let’s wait and watch..And next day morning…..I couldn’t  believe my eyes..It was Ryka and in her arm was her little daughter. She just delivered a baby girl. There she stood by the door Mr. Ghosh came running cause the little baby started cry..”It’s very hot here..Let me switch on the AC”..But what happened the AC is not working…not today …this damn this malfunctioned..what to do now…”Please switch on the fan baba” …These words spoken by Ryka were like honey drops to me ears. And I was switched on…..and I went on round and round…..those little eyes were sparkling and she was giggled……My happiness had no bounds…I simply went on and on..As if there is not tomorrow…… Today I have no regrets…The purpose of my existence is complete…..and now I am witness to Ryka juniors’ childhood….Here’s my new beginning

20 thoughts on “A ceiling Fan’s Tale

  1. Pretty part of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to say that I get in fact loved account your weblog posts. Anyway Ill be subscribing on your augment and even I fulfillment you get entry to consistently fast.

  2. Thanks, I have ended up searching for information on this topic for ages and yours is the best Ive identified till today. But, what about the conclusion? Are an individual sure in regards to the source?

  3. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

  4. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

  5. Now I know why I love you so much Sakhi.. Your way of expressing feelings are just magnificent.. Just the way a fan would have thought..

Leave a Reply

