Plight of a Working Woman.

Life

 The only difference between men and women is that women are able to create new little human beings in their bodies while simultaneously writing books, driving tractors, working in offices, planting crops–in general, doing everything men do.”

5 am and the alarm rings, oh no I just slept and it’s morning now? Gosh!!! It’s already 5:05 am, wish I could have slept some more. No I can’t do that so many work is still pending. Ohhh!!!! My back can’t deal with this back ache anymore.  I guess many of us(Working mother’s) feel the same. And the day starts. First let me prepare the breakfast and Lunch…quick the hands of the clock are moving really fast..Oh God washing still left. Let’s put the clothes’ in the Washing machine and in the mean time I can pack the lunch. It’s already time and I need to get ready, got to hide my wrinkles and fine lines and yes those dark circles. Thank GOD these cosmetic companies have come out with certain good product which does manages to make us look pretty and fresh.

It’s almost 6:40 dear wake up your school bus leaves with 7:30. -Mamma please 2 mins more..Ok dear. Honey please wake up its 6:40am.Dear why do u look like a monster early in the morning comes the reply. Finally after lot of coaxing which finally leads to screaming, my daughter and husband pull themselves out of the bed. First daughter has to take charge of the bathroom and every 5 mins there’s a knock on the bathroom road. Hope you are brushing your teeth properly and hurry else we will miss the bus. On the other hand Dearie husband locked himself inside the bathroom with the newspaper so that this monster can’t disturb him.  In the mean time checked her school bag.  School uniform is ready. Shoes polished and ready.  One more episode would be tying her hair.

Finally managed to get my daughter ready and wave her as she boards the school bus. Now the next little child awaits my attention. There I can hear him shouting- where is my hankie??…my socks…??Can’t you keep things arranged?  (Oh yes I can definitely keep things arranged if you stop throwing them here and there). Finally left home. Just managed to take a bite of that sandwich on the way. After a lot of hustle and bustle managed to reach office and there all the eyebrows raised cause once again I am late today-as usual.

In office I am not a woman I am a fellow employee expected to work at par with her counterparts. Attend meetings, meeting targets else explanations. Breaking our head and debugging. Its 5:00 pm need to rush but so much of work is still pending. I know I know people gossiping behind –just see she came late and leaving early but who cares, my daughter who is in the playschool now after her school got over is waiting for me.

6:15 reached home. My daughter I eagerly waiting to open her box filled with excitement and there me running around to prepare some snacks for her-she may be hungry after the entire day and start dinner preparations yet lends her all her attention. 7:30 husband returns.  No mood for having homemade snacks so just leaves to attend his evening ADDA with friends. Mom dear sits down with homework’s and evening study sessions. Even managing the Dinner. 9:30 pm all ready for dinner. Post dinner Husband sits down with Laptop or the TV. Though daughter has some inclination towards the TV but no there is no TIME. You need to sleep now; tomorrow morning there is school again. After putting her daughter to sleep she sits down for ironing the next day clothes. Polishing her shoes. Finally its 11:00pm and she is dead. You kick her, punch her or prick her she is simply DEAD. However there is an exception. If the kid is not well then she can spend her entire night awake sitting next to her yet ready for her battle-her next Day

After everything if we miss out on something we are called incapable or irresponsible. It’s not easy to be working and managing home at the same time. But we give all our efforts and if we falter please don’t criticize us. Try to understand us. We are like you, made of flesh and blood. You have weekends but do we have weekends. Our Weekends means cooking something good. Dusting and washing.

I didn’t write this article to prove how great we -the Women are, but just a request don’t underestimate us or criticize us shortcomings. We just ask for some love and respect added with a little appreciation. This is all we ask from you.

It even hurts us when we leave our kids in playschool and go to office. We even want to play with them. But if we are working it’s not only for the financial Independence. It’s for the Family.


 

29 thoughts on “Plight of a Working Woman.

  1. Why doesn’t the husband help ? IS he oblivious to the plight of the working woman? what does he do for the family ?

  2. Hey thr!
    Thanks for writing in..I got to see this wonderful writeup of yours!
    I am a homemaker (and a blogger )with maids for the basic works not for the miscellaneous stuff, its difficult to get good ones I tell you!
    Plus the maids keep taking leaves often because they knw, this lady would do things if we dont..
    Then too I can relate to this post..infact if you are staying at home, the pressure of looking good, keeping the home and room spotless are things which are obviously expected… taking care of yourself and looking like a Diva is another small expectation!
    Keep up the good work!
    Nidhi

    1. I agree…Keeping house spotless..else u will be termed and being a housewife carries with it its own responsibilities…And U have to look like a DIVA…I guess its same everywhere..LOL!!!

  3. This is why you need a help in home…atleast for cooking and clening….otherwise it does not make any sense to work outside…..Why kill youself???

  4. I simply couldnt depart your web site prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the usual information an individual supply in your guests? Is gonna be again frequently in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  5. good one for women………do put ure post on word before u post…….u can rectify some minor errors that way….keep it up

  6. I rarely write comments, but i did some searching and wound up here Plight of a Working Woman. | The Glowing Halo. And I actually do have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind. Is it simply me or does it look like some of the responses look like left by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing on other places, I’d like to follow everything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list of the complete urls of all your community pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  7. I leave a response when I appreciate a post on a site or if I have something to add to the discussion. It’s a result of the sincerness communicated in the post I read. And after this post Plight of a Working Woman. | The Glowing Halo. I was moved enough to post a thought 🙂 I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s okay. Could it be just me or does it look like like some of these comments come across like they are left by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional online sites, I would like to follow everything new you have to post. Would you list the complete urls of all your public sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  8. I am sorry but it just seems as if you run the house all by yourself and your husband torpidly sits around. This post just reflects the plight of the gender.. the woman vs. man situation.. and clearly in a male dominated country like India, this is bound to happen. Make your husband do some work.. why is that you have to come early from work.. why cant he come early at times? or why can’t he iron the clothes while you prepare dinner..? You both need to share the responsibilities.. you have too much on your hand already..

Leave a Reply

